Quadrelli’s Gelateria, Sandbach

During our last week in Manchester, we made an effort to visit everything we either hadn’t visited for a while or that we’d yet to visit. We went to museums, galleries, markets and stately homes.
We also managed to get to the much-hyped-amongst-our-circle-of-friends gelateria: Quadrelli’s in Sandbach. Tales of molten chocolate or syrup in the bottom of cones were enough to secure a visit. We made our way to Sandbach – a small but busy town about 45 minutes outside Manchester – on a Tuesday morning to sample their wares. It’s a sweet little shop open completely at the front, as they do on the continent, and with a view of some old houses and municipal flowerbeds. It offers all sorts of Italian fare, but we were just in it for the gelato.

I’ve never much liked icecream (partly to do with my sensitive teeth, partly because I prefer to indulge in savoury) but it’s accurate to say that icecream is TLM’s one true culinary love. What can I say? This was delicious. TLM had a hefty two-scooped waffle cone, with raspberry and strawberry gelato. I had a lick, and it was vividly fruity and sweet.

I had a brownie sundae with caramel and chocolate/hazelnut icecream (“we don’t usually do that, but because it’s quiet…”). It was divine with at least three hunks of brownie. I actually had to concede defeat and leave some at the bottom. Unheard of.

So if you’re ever in the neighbourhood and need a fix of delicious gelato with embellishments I would highly recommend it. Remember, chocolate filled waffle cones …
4 responses to “Quadrelli’s Gelateria, Sandbach

  1. Bianca December 31, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Your dessert looks to me like Harry’s Heart Attack, a dessert served exclusively at Harry’s on Longbrook St, Exeter. You might want to give it a try and compare the two versions if you’re ever in the West Country 🙂

  2. Sage August 5, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Sounds lovely, though ice-cream doesn’t agree with me I would love to try it.

  3. Hannah July 30, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Mmmmm….That looks goreous!I used to go through Sandbach most summers of my teens and early 20s. We narrowboated from Middlewich and I usually got the train to Sandbach and I never knew about it 😦

  4. Elaine July 30, 2008 at 10:26 am

    ooooooooooh, I’m so hungry now!

Leave a Reply

